There is no John Franco in this movie boys and girls. No dude who wants to be a friend to the animal kingdom and make the world a better place for him and his chimpanzee. No saving the world and his father with a miracle drug. There is nothing light and airy in this sequel to Rise of the Planet of the Apes. Gary Oldman, who is good in everything – my personal favorite is Leon: The Professional as a corrupt cop- seems to be the co-star of this film. But the actual star, the main attraction is back from the Original… Caesar. I mean just look at the Movie poster and you can see he is the star.

Image 

But what is truly daunting about this trailer is how dark it is:<a href="” title=”Dawn Trailer”>

 

Maybe because I had just finished watching “28 Days Later” for the tenth time because I have a crush on Naomie Harris (I will be watching SkyFall today off of NetFlix as part of my dedication to her. Might even watch a couple of Pirates films as well because she is sexy as Calista/Tia Dalma… if you can past the grungy teeth). Anyway, it looks like its been about a decade since we have seen John Franco and Caesar (I mean is there a better name out there for this character? I think not) and I don’t think Will Rodman made it through the war that is discussed in the trailer. This movie looks dark and menacing and like any good science fiction film, filled with underlying messages about how humans are destroying the world and what could happen if we do not change our ways. Did I mention I only use non animal tested products and will probably cancel my pass to the Bronx Zoo. Like, 28 Days Later, the world looks like it has come to an end and like any good horror/science fiction film I felt a twinge in the back of my neck for humanity. All I have to say is that I will be there opening weekend with One Medium Size Tub of Popcorn. I don’t know if it will be great, because it is a sequel, but it has the potential to send chills and be highly entertaining. I am hoping for a Dark Knight type of sequel and not a Matrix Reloaded type of sequel. I think we will be good with a “28 Weeks Later” type of sequel. Enjoy!